Cat getting vaccinated

Vaccination Protects Your Dog!

They often say “an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure”. Vaccinating your cat or dog is one of the best ways to help them live healthy lives. There are several vaccines against the most common, most contagious and most serious diseases. Moreover, the cost of treating these diseases is much higher than the cost of vaccination.


In the first few weeks after birth, puppies and kittens are fed by their mother’s milk, which contains antibodies that immunize them against certain diseases. After those few weeks, they should be vaccinated once a month until the age of four months. Subsequently, vaccinations are given once a year throughout life.


How do vaccines work? Vaccines contain a small amount of virus, bacteria and organisms that cause disease. These organisms have been attenuated or killed and when administered to the animal, they stimulate the immune system to produce the cells and proteins that fight the disease.


Canine Diseases

Dogs are more susceptible to serious viral diseases because they socialize a lot. Here is a complete list of the most contagious canine diseases:

  • Distemper (distemper)
  • Infectious canine hepatitis (adenovirus)
  • Parainfluenza and infectious tracheobronchitis (kennel cough)
  • Rabies
  • Leptospirosis

At Clinique Vétérinaire Laurentien-Keller, we administer vaccines against all these diseases and many others. Call us today for more information.

Created by

Legal notice

Chat se faisant vacciner

Faire vacciner son chien, c'est le protéger!

Ils disent souvent ''mieux vaut prévenir que guérir''. Faire vacciner votre chat ou chien est un des meilleurs moyens de lui permettre de vivre en santé. Il existe plusieurs vaccins contre les maladies les plus répandues, les plus contagieuses et les plus graves. De plus, les coûts de traitement de ces maladies sont bien plus élevés que les coûts de la vaccination.


Les premières semaines après sa naissance, les chiots et les chatons sont nourris par leur mère. Dans le lait de leur mère, il y a des anticorps qui les immunisent contre certaines maladies. Après cette période, ils doivent se faire vacciner une fois par mois jusqu'à l'âge de 4 mois. Par la suite, les vaccinations se font annuellement pendant toute sa vie.


Comment fonctionnent les vaccins? Les vaccins contiennent une petite quantité de virus, de bactéries et d'organismes qui causent des maladies. Ces organismes ont été atténués ou tués et lorsqu'ils sont administrés à l'animal, ils stimulent son système immunitaire afin qu'il produise des cellules et des protéines qui combattent la maladie.


Maladies canines

Les chiens sont plus exposés aux maladies virales graves puisqu'ils se socialisent beaucoup. Voici une liste complète des maladies canines les plus contagieuses :

  • Distemper (Maladie de Carré)
  • Hépatite infectieuse canine (Adénovirus)
  • Parvovirose
  • Para-influenza et Trachéo-bronchite infectieuse (Toux de chenil)
  • Rage
  • Leptospirose


À la Clinique Vétérinaire Laurentien-Keller, nous administrons des vaccins contre toutes ses maladies et bien d'autres encore. Appelez-nous aujourd'hui pour en savoir plus.

Création de

Mention legale